The Olympian Gods

The 12 Olympian Gods

The twelve great gods of the Greeks were known as the Olympians, as they ruled from on high on Mount Olympus. Together they presided over every aspect of human life.

Image result for greek gods family tree

The Other Olympians

A number of other gods were described as Olympian. Most of these were functionaries or minions of the Twelve. For example, the Horae belonged to Zeus, the Muses to Apollo, Eileithyia and Hebe to Hera, and the Erotes to Aphrodite.

Image result for olympian gods
(c) Palazzo del Te, Mantua