Aglaea was one of the three Charites and the goddess of beauty, splendour, glory and adornment.

Residence: Mount Olympus
Parents: Zeus and Eurynome
Siblings: The Charites
Consort: Hephaestus
Children: Eucleia, Euthenia, Eupheme and Philophrosyne 

Aglaea (centre), as depicted on Antonio Canova’s sculpture, The Three Graces with her sisters. (c) Makthorpe

She was the wife of the god Hephaestus and the mother of four younger Charites named Eucleia (Good-Repute), Euthenia (Praise), Eupheme (Eloquence) and Philophrosyne (Welcome). Aglaea was also named Charis (Grace) and Cale (Beauty).

Back to the Charites