Hyperion was the Titan god of heavenly light and one of the sons of Uranus and Gaia.

Residence: Tartarus
Parents: Uranus and Gaia
Siblings:  Coeus, Crius, Cronus, Cyclops, Furies, Giants, Hecatoncheires, Iapetus, Oceanus, Meliae, Mnemosyne, Phoebe, Rhea, Tethys, Theia and Themis
Consort: Theia
Children: Eos, Helius and Selene

He was the father of the lights of heaven: Eos the Dawn, Helius the Sun, and Selene the Moon. His wife was Theia, lady of the aether, the shining blue of the sky. Hyperion’s name means “watcher from above” or “he who goes above” from the Greek words hyper and iôn.

Hyperion was one of four Titan brothers who conspired with Cronus to castrate and depose their father Uranus. When he descended to lie with Gaia, Hyperion, Crius, Coeus and Iapetus, posted at the four corners of the world, seized hold of their father and held him fast while Cronus castrated him with a sickle. In this myth, these four Titans personify the great pillars holding heaven and earth apart or the entire cosmos aloft described in Near-Eastern cosmogonies. As the father of the sun and dawn, Hyperion was no doubt regarded as the Titan of the pillar of the east. His brothers Coeus, Crius and Iapetus presided respectively over the north, south and west.

The Titans were eventually deposed by Zeus and cast into Tartarus

Back to Titans